top of page

Let's Talk Skin

Tonight I want to tell you about my skin and why I got started in skincare.


I have always had bad skin, a mixture of poor genetics and poor maintenance. Growing up I had raging hormonal acne and it was a big source of embarrassment for me. I was always covered in these deep painful pimples that no matter what I tried would never go away.


At the time, my family couldn't afford to send me to a dermatologist so it was a lot of exploring and researching between my mom and I. There was a lot of trial and error, most of the times it was error. I knew nothing about my skin and would just try whatever I could get my hands on. My amazing mom did whatever she could to help! Which I love her for and I am forever thankful for.


It wasn't until my junior year of high school that I started to learn about my skin and listen to what it liked and didn't like. I did a ton of in-depth research and reading, devouring anything I could get my hands on to better understand skin, not just my own but others as well. I wanted to be able to help others in ways that I didn't have growing up. Everything I tried to access to get help through cost ridiculous amounts of money, that someone in high school just couldn't afford.


I realized that I have extremely dry, acne-prone skin, something that isn't too common. Everything I read stated that you could only have one or the other, that it was impossible to have both, where as I sat there reading those articles with dry skin that was also prone to acne. Something needed to change. I decided to be that change.


In college is when I truly fell in love with all things skin care and truly dove off the deep end into my skincare obsession. I quickly realized that I didn't need to be spending ridiculous amounts of money on "miracle" products, but that there were, in fact, hidden gems in the local Walmart right down the road. That is my main goal of this blog, is to share my thoughts, tips, and secrets about skincare. I want you, as a reader, to feel comfortable reaching out to me with questions. I am not a licensed esthetician, I never have nor ever will claim to be one until someday down the road I can go back to school and get my license. Everything I post is from my personal experience or the personal experiences of those closest to me who have allowed me to share their skin story, please know this.


I am so excited for this journey ahead!


Chip

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To Mask or Not to Mask?

Every skin care lover has their favorite face masks they know they can always count on for their skin’s needs. But with pregnancy, so many masks aren’t safe! So I’ve had to overhaul my skincare a lot.

bottom of page